SOPHIE GLEDHILL

 Coach

Sophie studierte Musik an der University of Cambridge, bevor sie einen Master-Abschluss in Cello-Performance an der Eastman School of Music, USA, erhielt, wo sie bei Steven Doane studierte. Sophie blieb einen Sommer in den USA, um Cello und Kammermusik im Belvoir Terrace Performing Arts Summer Camp in Lenox, Massachusetts, zu unterrichten.

Sie war einige Jahre lang Coach für die National Children's String Sinfonia of Great Britain und ist derzeit Cello-Lehrerin für den Undergraduate-Schauspielmusiker-Kurs an der Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.

2018 unterrichtete Sophie als Mitglied des vom Orchestra of the Americas unterstützten Global Leaders Program junge Streicher bei sozial motivierten Musikinitiativen im Regenwald des chilenischen Patagonien und auf der Osterinsel.

 

Während der Pandemie umfassten Sophies gestreamte Auftritte ein Programm mit russischen Kammermusikwerken für das Pushkin House Festival und ein Konzert mit Kammermusik von Vivaldi in der Wallace Collection. Sie hat Kammermusik für Oboe und Streicher mit dem Finzi Ensemble und für Conway Hall Sunday Concerts Kammermusik mit der Sopranistin Louise Kemény aufgeführt, darunter Schönbergs Streichquartett Nr. 2.

 

Während des COVID-19-Lockdowns leitete sie die Toki Rapa Nui Global Support Campaign und sammelte 12.000 £, um Lateinamerikas erste 100 % umweltverträgliche Kunstschule zu unterstützen.

Sophies Erfahrung auf der Osterinsel inspirierte den kürzlichen Start von CelloTrek, ihrem laufenden Projekt, ein Musikstück aus jedem Land der Welt aufzunehmen, um Geschichten über ökologische und kulturelle Nachhaltigkeit hervorzuheben.

SOPHIE GLEDHILL_edited.jpg

SOPHIE GLEDHILL

Coach

Sophie read music at the University of Cambridge UK before receiving a masters degree in cello performance from the Eastman School of Music, USA, where she studied with Steven Doane. Sophie stayed in the USA for a summer to teach cello and chamber music at Belvoir Terrace Performing Arts Summer Camp in Lenox, Massachusetts.

For a number of years she was a tutor for the National Children’s String Sinfonia of Great Britain, and is currently the cello tutor for the undergraduate Actor Musician course at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.

In 2018, as a member of the Global Leaders Program facilitated by the Orchestra of the Americas, Sophie tutored young string players at socially motivated music initiatives in the rainforest of Chilean Patagonia and on Easter Island.

 

During the pandemic, Sophie’s streamed performances have included a programme of Russian chamber works for the Pushkin House Festival and a concert of chamber music by Vivaldi at the Wallace Collection. She has performed chamber music for oboe and strings with the Finzi Ensemble and, for Conway Hall Sunday Concerts, chamber works with soprano Louise Kemény including Schoenberg’s String Quartet No. 2.

 

During the COVID-19 lockdown she ran the Toki Rapa Nui Global Support Campaign, raising £12,000 to support Latin America's first 100% environmentally sustainable school of the arts.

Sophie’s experience on Easter Island inspired the recent launch of CelloTrek, her ongoing project to record a piece of music from every country of the world to highlight stories of environmental and cultural sustainability.

SOPHIE GLEDHILL_edited.jpg